img20161120105715

Title: The Red Sun (Legends of Orkney #1)

Author: Alane Adams

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy/Adventure, Mythology

Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis:

Sam Baron is about to get the shock of his life. First his substitute English teacher claims to have turned his old teacher into a lizard; then a strange dwarf named Rego arrives and claims Sam is from a  magical realm called Orkney. When his friends are taken prisoner, it’s up to Sam to save them.

Sam embarks on a journey to Orkney through a stonefire to find his friends, but when he arrives, he discovers that an ancient curse has turned the sun a poisonous re and threatens to destroy the land. With only a young witch girl to guide him, Sam must choose: save his friends, or stop the red sun from consuming the land?

Drawing on Norse mythology, The Red Sun follows Sam’s journey to uncover the truth about his past–a journey during which he has to overcome the simmering anger inside of him, learn to channel his growing magical powers, and find a way to forgive the father who left him behind.

Review:

*Author sent me a free copy in exchange of an honest review.*

First of all, let me tell you that I love the cover so much. It is just so beautiful and I love the little details. The cover looks magical enough.

This book is rooted in Norse mythology. I have no idea about the said mythology and I really enjoyed reading about Odin and the other gods.

I like the author’s writing style. I got hooked in the first few chapters. For me, there was no boring part in this book! Every chapter, there’s something new that will happen, or there will be another revelation or another adventure. This book is a really exciting read. I also like how each chapter ends. It makes you want to read the next chapters and find out what will happen next.

I also enjoyed all the fantasy here–the gods and goddesses, witches, talking animals and all those magic. Reading the book actually feels like I’m back in my childhood. The book also made my imagination run wild.

There were times that I get a little annoyed at Sam’s attitude, but I do like how he developed throughout the story. I also like his squad and I really, really adore Mavery. I also love the fact that Sam cares so much about his friends and that they always stand up for him too. I really enjoyed the friends relationship.

I was surprised with the ending because it wasn’t what I expected. On the contrary, it made me more excited to read the sequel! All in all, I really enjoyed this book. It was quite entertaining. I recommend this book to younger readers who love adventures!

Connect with the author:

Instagram

Website

