hg

Title: Holding Ground: A Stephen Richards Novella 2

Author: Alice Rachel

Genre: YA Dystopian, Romance

Rating: 5 stars

Blurb: “My soul has deserted this ship and my heart has frozen over.
Everything that made me human is now gone.
I am a monster.
This monster they’ve turned me into.
Out of all of them, Fox is the one I despise the most.
He’s a fool if he thinks I won’t make him pay the price for his sins.
He’s a fool if he believes I will ever forget.”
– Stephen Richards

Review:

*Author sent me a free copy in exchange of an honest review.*

Let me share a little story to you before I start giving my review about the book. I read the second book of the series, Standing Ground, last month and I was an emotional wreck after reading it. If you’re interested in reading my review of Standing Ground, click HERE. I didn’t read Holding Ground right after finishing SG because I don’t think I can handle all the emotional stress (lol).

What can I say about this book? I must say that when I read the book, each word gripped my heart. That statement may sound exaggerated but the suggestiveness that this book has–I was deeply affected by the story.

There were scenes which were pretty brutal. Thank goodness that I wasn’t watching a movie because I probably couldn’t take it. But I could still imagine it and oh my God it still hurts.

This book kind of enlightened me and gave answers to several questions regarding Stephen. This book gave me a whole new perspective and made me understand the whole story better. Just like in the previous books, this one has some surprises too (which I totally didn’t expect!). This novella gives readers a better understanding about Stephen’s personality and his life, in short, readers get to know him much better.

Stephen is one of my favourite characters in the series (if not my most favourite), and after reading this novella, my heart broke for him and because of him. I still love him though (even after making me sad and breaking my heart).

The author pledged to donate 100% of sales revenue from “Holding Ground” to RAINN.

Connect with the author

Website

Instagram

