gow

Title: Genesis of Wood (The Elementals Book 3)

Author: Jennifer L. Kelly

Genre: YA sci-fi, fantasy

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis:

Sometimes believing is seeing.
Ka Waylon is determined to retrieve the third stone which will restore her fractured personality: the Wood stone. Accompanied by her boyfriend, Sloan Braden, they travel back to the Elemental Abyss.

Only the Imminent Darkness is seeping into the other lands, bringing chaos and destruction in its wake. Ka and Sloan travel to the Land of Wood where they must venture to the Fairy Grove and meet the Fairy King in order to find the stone that they seek.

But in the Land of Wood not everyone is a friend and the Fairy King’s secrets could put everyone in jeopardy.
Deceit, loyalty, and your deepest fears await in the Land of Wood.

Review:

*Author sent me an e-ARC in exchange of an honest review.*

Okay, where do I start?

I’ve been waiting for the third installment of this series and when I finally got it, I was so busy with different things. But at long last, I finished it!

How difficult would it be to retrieve a stone and destroy it? (There was a line in the book similar to this.) It sounds simple, right? Actually, it’s anything but simple.

In each book, Ka’s goal is to retrieve a stone and destroy it but I don’t know how the author manages to make each book different from one another (aside from the fact of traveling to different worlds). But you can definitely see the differences on how the story unfolds. I feel like in this book, there were less action/fight scenes but it was more on an adventurous side? Even though there were less fight scenes wherein you’ll be screaming NOOOO DON’T DIE in your head, there were still times that I was kind of whispering “No. No. No.”, “It can’t be.” “Whaaaat!?”

Another thing that I liked about this book is that it is more on a fantasy genre instead of sci-fi. (And TEK has more mythology to it) I loved the Land of Wood and enjoyed meeting/getting to know new characters such as elves, nymphs and fairies. And I have a new favourite character and I wish to see him again in the future. Traveling through the Land of Wood was such a great adventure. It’s my first time to get attached to a place in this series.

As for Ka, I’ve seen how she changed/developed from being the Old Ka to the New Ka. Yes, there are times that she still feels afraid but she’s now more courageous and stronger. I like how she discovers her potential.

How many months do we need to wait for the next book? I can’t wait to find out what will happen next!

If you haven’t read this book, or this series, NOW’S THE TIME TO GET YOURSELF A COPY!!!

P.S. If you want to read my review of Army of Fire, click HERE.

       If you want to read my review of The Earth Key, click HERE.

Connect with the author

Website

Instagram

