scandalized

Title: Scandalized

Author: Tara Frejas

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis:

Fi Legaspi is living the dream working in Seoul as a road manager for one of South Korea’s hottest bands, East Genesis Project. Until she isn’t.

When she finds herself in the middle of a scandal and a hostile fangirl witch hunt, Fi seeks the comfort of home, and to her surprise, not the person she had been pining for for years. All too suddenly it’s no longer her career on the line, but also her heart. Will she walk away from everything that matters to her or fight to keep her dream alive?

Review:

After reading King’s Cage, it left a heavy feeling in my chest. So I thought, I needed a break from all the betrayals and heart breaks from King’s Cage. I needed something “light”. I wanted to read a romance class book. I  picked up Scandalized because it’s been sitting on my shelf for months and I also thought I have to read it to be able to read the story (related to it) in Summer Crush.

At first, I thought I would have a little difficulty in remembering the character’s names because mostly were Korean. But guess what? I wasn’t confused at all!

This was a light read and definitely a page turner. I loved how realistic the characters are. The book shows a glimpse of a life of band members and the people behind them. It shows how these people deal with showbiz issues. The part wherein the book shows blog articles including the comments are realistic too! We could see how the netizens could be so mean sometimes. Everyone’s entitled to their own opinion, but sometimes, people judge too quickly. The “fangirl feels” are relatable even though I’m not a K-pop fan. I actually liked the band itself. I became one of their fangirls. (Haha!) Each of the members is unique in their own way. All three are all adorable too! (There was a part in the book wherein I was waiting for this ~fictional~ band to be mentioned; and when the Trainman was mentioned in the book, it made me wish that both bands are real! Come on, I know you also want to!)

I also loved the culture incorporated in the book. It’s a mix of a Korean and Filipino culture. I’ve read several books wherein the some of the characters speak different language other than English (mostly French). I find it amusing whenever I read the sentences in French. I might be pronouncing it incorrectly, actually. Sometimes, I would have to “google” the sentence in order to understand it. Now I’m wondering, how does it feel for a reader who isn’t a Filipino to read the Tagalog sentences in the book. Did they find it cool and amusing too? And, because there were several Korean and Filipino words, there’s a glossary at the end of the book. Yay for new knowledge!

As for the romance, it wasn’t overwhelming but still gives the kilig factor! I also liked that the book didn’t only tackle how the entertainment business works but also the fact that bullying was discussed in the book. It is important to raise awareness about that matter.

It was a cute, fun and light read that I really enjoyed. I want to read more about the band, and Fi and Gabe!

After reading the book, I wanted to go and order an EG Project shirt (and Trainman too, I’ve been wanting to buy a Trainman shirt for quite some time now). It would be awesome to have button pins and other merch too!

P.S. I really love the cover of the book! It’s so cute and the details in the back cover is great too! The cover is significant to the story itself!

If you love Kpop, or if you’re a fangirl, I’m sure you will enjoy this book! 🙂

Connect with the author

Instagram

Website

