Cerynn McCain is a licensed cosmetologist and a first time author. Her published book, Inhibited is part of her The Abandoned Crown series. She loves paddle-boarding and swimming, and she also loves marathoning different tv shows!

Snapchat-1861967329

She’s another author I met because of Ms. Shannon Rieger. She’s really sweet and very approachable as well! I was surprised with what I learned about her. At her age, she already achieved what I’m still dreaming of!

Nica: Can you tell us 3 facts about yourself that you think most readers don’t know about you?

Cerynn: 1: When I was in school I hated writing until I took a fiction writing course in college. I always wrote stories on my own, but I hated being told what and how to write in school. Now, after falling in love with writing, I wish I could go back to those classes and redo them. 2: If there’s an “at home” craft, I’ve probably tried it. I crochet, knit, sew, paint, draw, etc. I use these crafts to help break writers block. My newest “hobby” is making glass beads. 3: I was home-schooled my whole life (while attending a “school” once a week with other home-schoolers.) people always ask if I regret not getting the full public school experience. No way. I’m 20 years old. I graduated high-school, college, and cosmetology school by the time I was 18 and I’ve had my own business for a year. I am grateful for my experience.

Nica: How old are you when you started writing stories?

Cerynn: I wrote my first “book” when I was seven or eight. It was about two horses and looking back it was a total rip off of “Black Beauty” and “Spirit” but at the time I was really proud of it. I hardly wrote as a kid, but I told a lot of stories and acted them out with my toys. I didn’t start really writing until I was thirteen or so.

Nica: Who are your author inspirations?

Cerynn: I really like George R.R. Martin, J.K.Rowling, and Frank Peretti.

Nica: What inspired you to write your novel, Inhibited?

Cerynn: The characters in Inhibited have been in my head for years. Whenever I needed to “escape reality” I’d turn to those characters and tell their story. One day my mom suggested I write their story down. Until then writing a book hadn’t even occurred to me, but I gave it a shot and really fell in love with bringing them to life on the page.

Nica: How long did it take you to write it?

Cerynn: I started writing Inhibited eight years ago. I was writing more for fun, and not in a real hurry to get it published. I’ve only been really serious about publishing it in the last two years or so.

Nica: Inhibited was just recently released. What is the most challenging part in publishing a book?

Cerynn: I published through amazon and that whole process was so easy and I really appreciated that. Honestly the part that stressed me out most was making sure it was formatted properly and was typo free. All the other pieces fell into place very nicely and I didn’t worry as much about them. Getting word out after it’s published has proved to be quite challenging too. I really hate saying stuff like “do you like [this], [this], and [this]? Than Inhibited is the book for you!” because I don’t know. I don’t like assuming people will like it because everyone has their own taste. So I have to work on my advertising skills.

Nica: What sets your book apart from other books of the same genre?

Cerynn: Honestly? I read over and over on inspirational sites to “write the story you’d want to read” so that’s what I did. I wanted to focus on the struggles of my characters, and I wanted to make them more realistic. In so many stories I’ve read, the problems are solved “perfectly” and I’ve always found that unrealistic, and therefor unsatisfying. I wanted to do my best to keep my characters as human as possible even though they’re in a fantasy world. They’re not perfect. That was important to me.

Nica: What tips can you give for aspiring writers who want to self-publish their works?

Cerynn: Make sure it’s the best it can be. You don’t have a big name vouching for you when you self publish so make sure your book doesn’t need a big name. Make sure it excels all on its own. And write whatever you want. You’ll find an audience for it.

She just recently published her first book, but we should definitely watch out for more of her books!

Connect with the author

Amazon

Instagram

Facebook

Twitter

 

