charrence

Title: Terrence: A Short Story

Author: Alice Rachel

Genre: YA/NA Dystopian Romance

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis:

Bullying is nothing new to Terrence Young. The teasing and harassment are constant. His family is less than understanding as well. To them, Terrence chose to be gay and complicate their lives. Their little rejections sting and cut him deeply.

But when the Deviance Act is passed, Terrence’s life takes a turn for the worse overnight. Under the new law, a mere look, a simple touch, or a small kiss in public could mean death. Terrence attempts to hide his orientation to survive. That is until a gang attacks him in a bar and Chase Martinez interferes.

Chase is gorgeous, kind-hearted, and he’s a rebel in the Underground—all qualities that attract Terrence so much there is no stopping the fall. Loving Chase might be dangerous, but Terrence is done living in fear and letting others dictate what is right for him.

Review:

*Author sent me a free copy in exchange of an honest review.*

This is my second time reading an LGBT book. I didn’t very much enjoy the first book that I’ve read (it was not written by Ms. Alice, btw). For some people, this kind of book might bother them, but this didn’t bother me. This book is more than just a M/M romance.

This book is narrated through Terrence’s POV and I love how the narration shows his character. This book focuses on how #Charrence became a thing. But at the same time, it also focuses on Terrence’s (and Chase’s) struggles. I really felt the pain that these characters feel.

Another thing that I like about this book is that it is also informative. I told you it’s not just a M/M romance. It also tackles how people from the LGBT community feel and what are the struggles that they go through because of their orientation.

One last thing, when I read about Terrence in Standing Ground, I didn’t get attached to his character. But this book made me care about Terrence, and Chase too.

That’s the magic in Alice Rachel’s books. She can write short stories and readers get attached to characters in just a short period of time. *wink*

The epilogue was kind of like a cliffhanger but considering this is just a short story, so it is acceptable.

Note: The author pledges to donate 100% of sales revenue from “Terrence: A Short Story” to The Ally Coalition

Connect with the author

Website

Instagram

