Dangerous Ground

Title: Dangerous Ground

Author: Alice Rachel

Rating: 5 stars

Review:

I received this book last year before Christmas but I haven’t been able to read it back then. You know how busy the holidays can be. But when I finally got time to start this (like a week or two ago), of course I dived right into it!

The book is all about Tina and Chase. Before the prologue, theres the reading order of the books in the series, the list of characters and events. There’s also a trigger warning because the book contains topics about depression, abuse, etc. 

This book is an absolute page turner. I was thinking of reading only 5 chapters per day because I still kinda have a reading slump fron not reading a book for more than a month. Then I realized that I exceeded my plan and so I decided to read at least 70 pages a day. But of course I’d be lying if I say that I didn’t need a break from reading this. There are scenes that are just too heavy and I needed to put the book down for a while before continuing. (believe the warning by the author) 

The book is narrated in Tina and Chase’s POV. It follows their timeline way before they’ve been part of the Underground. It also shows how close their bond is. Back in book 1 or 2, there was this part about the betrayal witihin the rebels. Taylor insists that it is Tina and Chase tells him that Tina is not a traitor. Back then, I just thought that they’re just friends. I had no idea about their part in each others lives! 

And if the previous books aren’t enough to show how unfair the system is, then this book will show you how unfair it can be! It shows how difficult it is to be a lower class. How much they starve and how much they suffer. It tells about the sterilization law and the deviance act. There are parts of the book which makes me furious. Then I stop and think, that those circumstances may not be happening to me but somewhere someone is experiencing it. Then it breaks my heart to think that this may be a fiction novel but it doesn’t mean that the problems in the book can’t happen in real life. 

It also shows what really happened to Chase and how much heartbreak he had gone through. How can the world make him suffer like that?

Also, there are scenes that I can remember from the previous books. Now, I see some of them from a new perspective.

This has been a heart wrenching book. It made me feel so sad, it broke my heart. It made me furious about the system, the upper class who treats the lower class like they’re some piece of trash, *coughFoxcough*.

And the ending. It left me hanging. 
I was about to end my review like a cliffhanger lol. But no, I wouldn’t. Anyways, this is a must read if you have been following the series! By the way, this isn’t a standalone! If you plan on reading this, better check the reading order first.

Leave a comment