The Raven God

theravengod

Title: The Raven God (Legends of Orkney #3)

Author: Alane Adams

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy/Adventure, Mythology

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis:

After defeating the Volgrim witches, life in Orkney is quiet. Too quiet. Before Sam Baron can catch his breath, an army of fire giants led by Surt gather in the Eighth Realm of Musspell, determined to destroy Orkney–and it’s all Sam’s fault. After all, he took Odin’s life with an ancient cursed dagger, and now, mankind has lost its protector. To make matters worse, the God of Mischief, Loki, is on the loose and determined to reunite with his evil wife, Angerboda, and their three children: Fenrir the wolf, Jormungand the sea serpent, and Helva, Goddess of Death.

Orkney’s only hope lies with Sam and his stalwart friends. As Surt prepares to launch his forces against Orkney, Sam and two of his fellow witches, Perrin and Mavery, set out on a journey to rescue Odin, aided by Skidbladnir, a magical ship of the gods that can fly over land and sea, and Geela, a Valkyrie who can transform into a battle-ready goose. Meanwhile, Leo and Keely travel north to stop Loki from starting a war between the Eifalians and the Vanir, while Howie is left to watch over Skara Brae. With time running out, our heroes try frantically to prove once again that they can find the courage to do what’s needed when the odds are stacked against them–even when the sacrifice asked is greater than any of them could imagine.

Review:

*Author sent me a free ARC in exchange of an honest review.*

I must say that this a wonderful ending to an amazing series.

Sam and his squad have another mission to accomplish to save Orkney- bring back Odin and to defeat a new villain. The story was action-packed. It’s also full of adventure and magic. No doubt about it. It is also fast paced.

There were times wherein, some characters actually annoyed me and I wanted to yell at them and throw the book away from me. But there were times where I found myself holding my breath and waiting for what’s gonna happen next.

This is definitely a page turner. The characters set off to different missions/adventures and each one unique in its own way. It made the story more interesting and entertaining.

When there were only 10 chapters left, I slowed down in reading this because I thought, “I don’t want this to end just yet.” I’ve been enjoying it so much that I didn’t want it to come to an end so soon!

I can say that it was a perfect ending. The characters got to proved themselves and they get what they truly deserve.

If you’re a fan of fantasy or Norse mythology, or you want to read something from that genre, then you might want to give Legends of Orkney a try! You’re in for an epic adventure! 🙂

If you wish to read my review of The Red Sun (Legends of Orkney #1), click HERE.

If you wish to read my review of Kalifus Rising (Legends of Orkney #2), click HERE.

Connect with the author

Instagram

Website

 

Leave a comment